GLSI Micro-Tagged Head Reward Winners

Congratulations to the 33 winners of the Great Lakes Salmon Initiative’s 2020 tagged head reward program. These anglers turned in micro-tagged heads from Chinook Salmon, Steelhead and Atlantic Salmon caught in the Great Lakes, its piers, and tributaries. The winners were selected from a random drawing of all anglers who turned in micro-tagged heads. All winners will receive either a Moonshine Lure package or a Captain Chucks II gift card each valued at $100.

We want to thank our sponsors, Moonshine Lures, Captain Chucks II and the GLSI membership who made this reward program possible. We also want to thank the Michigan Department of Natural Resources for their help in administering the program. Special thanks goes to all anglers who tuned in micro-tagged heads in the past year. The GLSI created this program to provide more data for our fisheries managers to help make the best decisions in managing our Great Lakes salmon and trout fisheries. Turning in tagged heads helps to evaluate the success of stocking programs and supports other research. There was an increase in returned tagged heads from past years in 2020. The data provided from anglers was very valuable since there were less DNR creel clerks working to collect tagged heads due to the pandemic.

More information on micro-tagged heads and this reward program can be found at these links:…/0,4570,7-350-79119_79146……/turning-in-tagged-fish-in…

To help support citizen science and our mission to maintain our world class salmon fishery on the Great Lakes, join the GLSI here:

Here are the winners and the type of fish they turned in. Their prizes are being mailed to them next week.
Jeffrey Tloczynski Spring Lake MI Skamania Steelhead
Jake Krueger Saginaw MI Steelhead
Stanley J Czarnik Twinning MI Chinook Salmon
John B Angell Manistique MI Skamania Steelhead
James M Scherzer Oscoda MI Atlantic Salmon
Bob Maier Spring Lake MI Skamania Steelhead
Tom Jacobs Beaverton MI Atlantic Salmon
Theodore Jaskowski Jr Alpena MI Atlantic Salmon
Ronald Haas Bay City MO Atlantic Salmon
Ben L McNeice Yale MI Chinook Salmon
Zachary J Page Gowen MI Steelhead
Nik Shenk Sebaweing MI Atlantic Salmon
Mike Gildersleeve Alger MI Chinook Salmon
Roger Callens Oscoda MI Atlantic Salmon
Mike J Yambrick Stanford MI Chinook Salmon
Nicholas Arend Traverse City MI Skamania Steelhead
Dan Tallman Cheboygan MI Chinook Salmon
David Rodenhouse Rockford MI Rainbow Trout
Chris A Huff Grandville MI Skamania Steelhead
Stacy Pope Manchester MI Atlantic Salmon
Brandon Hudgins Jackson MI Chinook Salmon
James Chamberlin Mancelona MI Atlantic Salmon
Jonathon Wieczorkowski Presque Isle MI Chinook Salmon
Shane Paige Hale MI Chinook Salmon
Domonic Sharp Cheboygan MI Chinook Salmon
Cameron L Mattison Farmington Hills Atlantic Salmon
Donald A Bragg Boyne Falls MI Chinook Salmon
Tyler L Protasiewicz Manistee MI Steelhead
Edward C Krebs Greenbush MI Atlantic Salmon
Kegan V Augustine Freeland MI Chinook Salmon
Codie Braun Gaylord MI Chinook Salmon
Randall L Terrian Saginaw MI Atlantic Salmon
Josh Kretchman Hale MI Steelhead
May be an image of text

Great Lakes Salmon Initiative Web Design Provided by RKcom Web Design Services © 2019 - 2024, All Rights Reserved